The Department of Energy, Environment and Climate Action has responsibility for administering legislation that establishes a range of entities that either manage Crown land, or provide advice about Crown land management. The Minister for Environment is accountable to Parliament for the performance of these entities.

Advisory councils and committees

The Victorian Marine and Coastal Council (VMaCC) is the state’s peak advisory body about coastal and marine issues. It is established under the Marine and Coastal Act 2018 to provide independent advice on marine and coastal issues for the Minister for Environment.

The Victorian Marine and Coastal Council website contains further information on VMaCC, their role, and current projects.

The Victorian Environmental Assessment Council (VEAC) was established under the Victorian Environmental Assessment Council Act 2001. VEAC conducts investigations as requested by the Minister for Environment relating to the protection and ecologically sustainable management of the environment and natural resources of public land.

Read about the Victorian Environmental Assessment Council or visit the Victorian Environmental Assessment Council website.

The National Parks Advisory Council (NPAC) is established under the National Parks Act 1975 to advise the Minister for Environment on the administration of the Act and any related matters.

National Parks Advisory Council Annual Report 2022 (PDF, 1.6 MB)

National Parks Advisory Council Annual  Report 2022-23 (PDF, 2.5 MB)

The Reference Areas Advisory Committee (RAAC) is established under the Reference Areas Act 1978.

The RAAC advises the Minister for Environment on how reference areas (areas of public land of ecological interest and significance) should be protected, controlled and managed to preserve the areas as a reference for the purpose of comparative studies.

Land Managers

Parks Victoria (PV) is a statutory authority, created by the Parks Victoria Act 1998 and re-established in September 2018 under the Parks Victoria Act 2018, and has a board that is appointed by the Minister for Environment.

Parks Victoria acts as a park management agency for the community and the environment, caring for 18 per cent of Victoria’s landmass (4.1 million hectares). PV manage this estate in partnership with Traditional Owners, government and non-government organisations, park neighbours, Friends groups and the broader community.

Visit the Parks Victoria website.

The Great Ocean Road Coast and Parks Authority (GORCAPA) is a statutory authority, established by the Great Ocean Road and Environs Protection Act 2020 and has a board that is appointed by the Governor in Council. The Authority has been established to protect, conserve, enhance and manage public land and coastal assets within the Great Ocean Road coast and parks.

Visit the Authority’s website.

Victoria's six alpine resorts (Falls Creek, Mt Hotham, Mt Buller, Mt Stirling, Lake Mountain and Mt Baw Baw) are managed by Alpine Resorts Victoria (ARV) which was established on 1 October 2022 under the Alpine Resorts (Management) Act 1997.

The board of Alpine Resorts Victoria is appointed by the Minister for Environment.

Read about our Alpine resorts or visit the Alpine Resorts Victoria website.

The Royal Botanic Gardens Victoria Board (RBGVB) was established under the Royal Botanic Gardens Act 1991 and is appointed by the Minister for Environment to manage the Melbourne and Cranbourne Gardens, and the National Herbarium of Victoria. Royal Botanic Gardens Victoria plays a leading role in the conservation of plants through biodiversity research, programs to protect rare and threatened plants, and the study of habitats.

Visit the Royal Botanic Gardens website.

The Zoological Parks and Gardens Board (Zoos Victoria Board, trading as Zoos Victoria) was established under the Zoological Parks and Gardens Act 1995 and is appointed by the Minister for Environment to manage and administer Victoria's four zoos: Melbourne Zoo, Werribee Open Range Zoo, Healesville Sanctuary and the Kyabram Fauna Park. Zoos Victoria is a world-leading zoo-based conservation organisation, dedicated to fighting wildlife extinction.

Visit the Zoos Victoria website.

The Phillip Island Nature Park Board of Management Inc was created by the State Government of Victoria in 1996 under the Crown Land (Reserves) Act 1978, and comprises 1,805 hectares of Crown land set aside "for the conservation of areas of natural interest or beauty or of scientific, historic or archaeological interest."

Visit the Phillip Island Nature Park website.

Traditional Owner Land Management Boards (TOLMBs) are established under the Conservation, Forests and Lands Act 1987 and are appointed by the Minister for Environment to manage land in accordance with agreements reached with Traditional Owner groups.

Read about Agreements with Traditional Owners website.

Across Victoria approximately 1,150 voluntary Committees of Management (CoMs) manage 1,500 Crown land reserves. For afurther 2,800 reserves, municipal councils are appointed as CoMs.

Visit the CoM website for more information.

Many of Victoria’s Crown land reserves are on marine and coastal Crown land and are managed in accordance with the requirements of the Marine and Coastal Act 2018 and direction set out in the Marine and Coastal Policy 2020. Information to support coastal CoMs can be found at Marine and Coasts website.

Page last updated: 06/11/23